·ᵞ· ƴ ·ᵞ· a heart full of dead flowers ·ᵞ· ƴ ·ᵞ·

I won't forget to put roses on your grave........

Image by Annie in Beziers via Flickr

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

when i was a girl

my daddy left

step-daddy gone, too

i ended up alone

no man to look up to

no protector      …..no love…..

·ᵞ·

my heart’s full of dead flowers and dead memories

·ᵞ·

when i was a teenager

i never wanted to be alone

went from boy to boy

it never lasted long

’cause no one

protected me

’cause no one

ever loved me enough

·ᵞ·

my heart’s full of dead flowers and dead memories

·ᵞ·

when i became a woman

it was always the same

i couldn’t stand to be alone

and no man ever loved me enough

my whole life

no man ever loved me enough

·ᵞ·

a heart full of dead flowers and dead memories

· ᵞ · ƛ · ƴ · ƛ · ᵞ ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

“Kiss From A Rose”   Seal

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

this is my submission to  ~

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

I’m in a bit of a jam…   at   POETRY JAM
the prompt is to write about flowers, BUT write something dark.

thanks for a great prompt, Poetikat.

·ᵞ·

One Shoot Sunday     at     One Stop Poetry.    go check out some of  the other entries or submit one yourself.  take some time to look around the site if you’ve never been there ~ it is FABulous! Happy first Anniversary One Stop Poetry!


·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

The Poetry Pantry #56   at   Poets United   a FABulous site for poets
submit a new or old poem

·ᵞ·

Poetry Potluck Week 42     at     Jingle Poetry     a Fabulous site for poets. spend some time there!

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

poetry form  ~   the bop

The Bop is a poetic form that was developed by poet Afaa Michael Weaver at a Cave Canem summer retreat.

Here are the basic rules:

  • 3 stanzas
  • Each stanza is followed by a refrain
  • First stanza is 6 lines long and presents a problem
  • Second stanza is 8 lines long and explores or expands the problem
  • Third stanza is 6 lines long and either presents a solution or documents the
    failed attempt to resolve the problem
The first stanza (six lines long) states the problem, and the second stanza
(eight lines long) explores or expands upon the problem. If there is a
resolution to the problem, the third stanza (six lines long) finds it. If a
substantive resolution cannot be made, then this final stanza documents the
attempt and failure to succeed…..Read More

via   Poetic Asides

the bop at POETS.org

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

i’m also participating in ~

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

NaBloPoMo

·ᵞ·

Post A Day

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

“Kiss From A Rose”

lyrics ~

There used to be a graying tower alone on the sea.
You became the light on the dark side of me.
Love remained a drug that’s the high and not the pill.
But did you know,
That when it snows,
My eyes become large and
The light that you shine can be seen.
Baby,
I compare you to a kiss from a rose on the gray.
Ooh,
The more I get of you,
The stranger it feels, yeah.
And now that your rose is in bloom.
A light hits the gloom on the gray.
There is so much a man can tell you,
So much he can say.
You remain,
My power, my pleasure, my pain, baby
To me you’re like a growing addiction that I can’t deny.
Won’t you tell me is that healthy, baby?
But did you know,
That when it snows,
My eyes become large and the light that you shine can be seen.
Baby,
I compare you to a kiss from a rose on the gray.
Ooh, the more I get of you
The stranger it feels, yeah
Now that your rose is in bloom.
A light hits the gloom on the gray,
I’ve been kissed by a rose on the gray,
I’ve been kissed by a rose
I’ve been kissed by a rose on the gray,
…And if I should fall along the way
I’ve been kissed by a rose
…been kissed by a rose on the gray.
There is so much a man can tell you,
So much he can say.
You remain
My power, my pleasure, my pain.
To me you’re like a growing addiction that I can’t deny, yeah
Won’t you tell me is that healthy, baby.
But did you know,
That when it snows,
My eyes become large and the light that you shine can be seen.
Baby,
I compare you to a kiss from a rose on the gray.
Ooh, the more I get of you
The stranger it feels, yeah
Now that your rose is in bloom,
A light hits the gloom on the gray.
Yes I compare you to a kiss from a rose on the gray
Ooh, the more I get of you
The stranger it feels, yeah
And now that your rose is in bloom
A light hits the gloom on the gray
Now that your rose is in bloom,
A light hits the gloom on the gray.

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

·ᵞ·

36 Comments

Filed under Jingle Poetry, NaBloPoMo, one stop poetry, poetry, Poetry Jam, Post-A-Day2011, Post-A-Week2011, the bop

36 responses to “·ᵞ· ƴ ·ᵞ· a heart full of dead flowers ·ᵞ· ƴ ·ᵞ·

  1. moondustwriter

    a sad soliloquy of a survivor – always strong never loved

    poignant my friend

    • thank you, Moonie! ♥ this was my first attempt at a “bop” so that was fun, but it is a sad story. fortunately, it’s not autobiographical. {smile} i always appreciate you taking the time to visit and comment. ♥

  2. Pete

    The recurring line is very strong and has a great image. I was wondering, respectfully like, if stanzas two and three weren’t a bit similar? But only a small obversation from someone not very talented! A very enjoyable bop.

    • stanzas two and three are similar intentionally. the way i understand the bop, the final stanza either describes how the problem is resolved or documents the failure. in this woman’s case, she never gave love a chance because she continued to live in the past. i appreciate your critique, Pete ~ i’m learning to write and i’m sure there is a better way to convey her failure. it’s funny how sometimes a poem i love gets no comments and one i almost threw away is liked by others, so i have developed this bad habit of posting almost everything i write. i hope you’ll visit again and always do me the honor of voicing your opinion. thank you!

  3. Sad and haunting refrain with “a heart full of dead flowers and dead memories”

    Happy sunday ~

  4. b_y

    Glad to know it’s not autobiography–I wanted to give her a good hard shake. Been there, woke up.
    The form works really well for this. Been meaning to try it since Robert’s post.

  5. ugh – those that survive inherit all the pain…heart-wrenching write dani

    • thank you for taking the time to visit and comment, Claudia! ♥ it can be difficult to let go of the pain and move forward.

  6. Thanks Dani for sharing such heart felt poem.

  7. kez

    so pleased its not autobiographical ! very moving sad and poignant …..thank you for sharing

  8. I love the refrain on your bop! I just recently discovered the bop poetry form myself and though it can be difficult to write (at least for me!), it is very powerful. Nicely done!

    • thank you! it took some playing around with it for me to write a bop. i can’t say it’s my favorite form, but i like to try new-to-me forms. thank you for your visit and kind comment! ♥

  9. It’s a struggle to overcome those things. It takes a lifetime. Yet it makes you stronger, more resilient, more courageous! Well written.

  10. Pierced my heart. Such sadness wrapped in such a beautiful write.

  11. Helen

    You took us from one dark age to the next to the next ~ powerful and gut-wrenching!

  12. Oh, boy, talk about dark! I got the shivers. It’s a pleasure to explore how bad it could get …

  13. what a sad tale.
    well told.

  14. Lovely but, very sad too.

  15. Very dark – I love the linking refrain

  16. This poem is filled with such sorrow and longing, masterfully done

  17. This is a lovely dark and sad poem. “a heart filled with dead flowers and memories. Just wonderful images and love your use of repetition.

    Melanie

i'd love to hear from you ♥ thanks! {comments must be approved before they are visible}

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.